The Army has spelled out eligibility criteria for the award of the Global War on Terrorism Medals to soldier's serving in support of Operation Freedom's Sentinel, one of two follow-on missions to Operation Enduring Freedom.

Since 2001, Operation Enduring Freedom has been the umbrella term for GWOT campaigns in the Middle East, Asia and Africa, such as OEF-Afghanistan, OEF-Philippines and OEF-Horn of Africa.

Follow-on operations to OEF include Inherent Resolve, the campaign against the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant terrorist organization, and Freedom's Sentinel, the U.S. mission in Afghanistan and elsewhere.

Soldiers deployed to Afghanistan for Freedom's Sentinel will continue to be awarded the Afghanistan Campaign Medal, while those serving abroad outside the ACM area of eligibility will qualify for the Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal and the Global War on Terrorism Service Medal.

The new award authority for the GWOT medals is retroactive to Jan.1, 2015.

Specifically, the expeditionary medal is authorized for soldiers deployed in support of an approved operation in the designated areas of eligibility defined in Defense Department and Army regulations.

Click here for complete list of approved areas of eligibility.

There is no deployment requirement to qualify for the service medal, but soldiers must meet the eligibility criteria defined in paragraph 2-19 of AR 600-8-22, the Army's military awards regulation.

Soldiers may be awarded both of these medals, but the qualifying period used to establish eligibility for one award cannot be used to justify eligibility for the other award.

Soldiers who previously have been awarded the expeditionary medal are eligible to wear a service star on the medal and ribbon device.

The new award policies are effective immediately and will be incorporated into an upcoming change to AR 600-8-22.

The six approved operations and effective dates for the award of the Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal are:

• Enduring Freedom, Sept. 11, 2001 – to be determined.

Iraqi Freedom, March 19, 2003-Aug. 31, 2010.

Nomad Shadow, Nov. 5, 2007 – to be determined.

New Dawn, Sept.1, 2010-Dec. 31, 2011.

Inherent Resolve, June 15, 2014 – to be determined

Freedom's Sentinel, Jan. 1, 2015 – to be determined.

More In Your Army
In Other News
Load More